Pasar al contenido principal

CCRIF Scholarship Programme

CCRIF SPC Postgraduate Scholarship Programme Guidelines

For 2024, CCRIF will provide scholarships for students pursuing a Masters or an MBA programme in a number of pre-identified areas related to disaster risk management for study at the following accredited universities in the Caribbean: The University of the West Indies, University of Technology Jamaica, Northern Caribbean University (Jamaica), University of the Commonwealth Caribbean (Jamaica), University of Guyana, University of Suriname, and University of Trinidad and Tobago

Ivan+20 logo

In 2024, CCRIF will offer an additional 2  "Ivan+20" postgraduate scholarships to nationals of the Cayman Islands and Grenada.

Applicants for these scholarships should use this application form:
Ivan+20 Postgraduate scholarship - Application form

The application process for these special scholarships is the same as for the general CCRIF postgraduate scholarships - as outlined below


Scholarship recipients must be citizens of CARICOM member or associate member countries and/or CCRIF member countries in the Caribbean (The CCRIF Scholarship Programme is not available to CCRIF member countries in Central America.)

The eligible Master's level programmes in the Caribbean are presented in the table below. This table will be revised from time to time as new programmes emerge either across these universities listed here or other universities.


Eligible Programmes

University of the West Indies


Cave Hill Campus

  • Faculty of Science and Technology – M.Sc. Natural Resource and Environmental Management (all options)
  • Faculty of Social Sciences – M.Sc. Building and Construction Management
  • Centre for Biosecurity Studies –MPhil Biosecurity and Biorisk Management

Mona Campus

  • Faculty of Science and Technology – M.Sc. Natural Resource Management (Option – Integrated Urban and Rural Environmental Management)
  • Faculty of Science and Technology, M.Sc. – Enterprise Risk Management (Jointly with Mona School of Business and Management)

St. Augustine Campus

  • Faculty of Engineering – M.Sc. Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Institute of International Relations – M.Sc. Climate Studies
  • Faculty of Engineering – M.Sc. Urban and Regional Planning
  • Faculty of Science and Technology - M. Sc. Biodiversity Conservation and Sustainable Development in the Caribbean

University of Guyana

  • Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences
    • M.Sc. Environmental Management
    • M.Sc. Urban and Regional Planning
    • M.Sc. Urban Planning and Management

University of Technology, Jamaica

  • Faculty of the Built Environment, School of Building and Land Management
    • M.Sc. Built Environment
    • MPhil Built Environment
    • M.Sc. Integrated Rural Development
    • M.Sc. Sustainable Energy and Climate Change
  • Caribbean School of Architecture, Master of Architecture (M.Arch)

Northern Caribbean University (Jamaica)

  • M.Sc. Environmental Science

University of Trinidad and Tobago

  • M.Sc. Integrated Coastal and Ocean Management
University of the Commonwealth Caribbean
  • Master of Business Administration (Disaster Management)
Anton de Kom University of Suriname
  • Faculty of Technology - M.Sc. in Sustainable Management of Natural Resources

Online programmes also are eligible for these scholarships.

Applicants must be holders a bachelor’s degree with a GPA of at least 3.0 in an area related to disaster risk management, environmental management, geography/geology, engineering, actuarial science, or a related discipline. Preference may be given to candidates who have some work or volunteer experience in a related field.

The scholarships are valued up to US$11,000 each and are specifically for those applicants who have gained admission to a Masters level programme or an MBA programme fitting the eligibility criteria presented above.

Preference will be given to persons with supporting nominations from publicly-funded (government) national or regional agencies whose mandates are specific to risk management, disaster risk modelling, disaster risk management, meteorology, climate change, civil with environmental engineering or environmental management.



  • Recipients must be registered full-time (except in the case of online programmes).

CCRIF Scholarship Agreement

  • Recipients will be required to sign a CCRIF Scholarship Agreement agreeing to the terms and conditions of the scholarship prior to the commencement of their programme


  • Recipients will be required to work in the Caribbean for a period of 18 months immediately after completion of the programme.
  • Upon completion of the programme, recipients will be required to notify CCRIF of their employment in the Caribbean at select times/intervals within the bonding period as stipulated in the signed CCRIF Scholarship Agreement.
  • Recipients who fail to complete the bonding period will be required to repay the award, unless CCRIF has provided a waiver.

Thesis Topic

  • Recipients must select a thesis topic in an area in which CCRIF has an established interest or which is aligned to the CCRIF mandate and strategic objectives, with a focus on the Caribbean, which must be approved by CCRIF

Academic Performance

  • Recipients are expected to achieve academic excellence and are required to ensure that grades are at least a Merit or B grade.
  • A report on academic performance will be required at select times within the academic programme.


  • Recipients who withdraw from the programme without good reason and the approval of the Academic Director, or who fail to complete the programme, will be required to repay the award.

Applications must be submitted via the CCRIF online scholarship programme platform at: no later than June 15, 2024.


* Denotes a mandatory field - your submission will not be accepted until all such fields are complete.

  • Please affix your name to the documents to be uploaded. 

    For example: JohnBrown_Application Form.ext
  • Names of the uploaded documents must match their contents.

Applications must be submitted using the online application form June 15, 2024

For additional information or for clarification, please email: 

Click Here To Apply