Skip to main content

Map of St. Kitts & NevisThe Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis (also known as the Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis), located in the Leeward Islands, is a federal two-island nation in the West Indies.

It is the smallest sovereign nation in the Americas, in both area and population.

The capital city and headquarters of government for the federated state is Basseterre on the larger island of Saint Kitts.

The smaller state of Nevis lies about 2 miles (3 km) southeast of Saint Kitts, across a shallow channel called "The Narrows".

Official Name: The Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis

Capital: Basseterre

Population: 40,131 (July 2009 est.)

Area: 261 sq. km. (Saint Kitts 168 sq km; Nevis 93 sq km)

Coastline: 135 km

Density: 149 Inhab/ sq Km

Religions: Anglican, other Protestant, Roman Catholic

Language: English

Ethnics Group: predominantly black; some British, Portuguese, and Lebanese

Goverment: Constitutional monarchy with Westminster-style parliament

Currency: East Caribbean Dollar