Skip to main content

Map of Trinidad & TobagoThe Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (pronounced /ˈtrɪnɨdæd ən təˈbeɪɡoʊ/) is an archipelagic state in the southern Caribbean, lying northeast of the South American country of Venezuela and south of Grenada in the Lesser Antilles.

It shares maritime boundaries with other nations including Barbados to the northeast, Guyana to the southeast, and Venezuela to the south and west.

Official Name: The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Capital: Port-of-Spain

Population: 1,229,953 (July 2009 est.)

Area: 5,128 sq km

Coastline: 362 km

Density: 212 inhab/ sq Km

Religions: Roman Catholic 26%, Hindu 22.5%, Anglican 7.8%, Baptist 7.2%, Pentecostal 6.8%, Muslim 5.8%, Seventh Day Adventist 4%, other Christian 5.8%, other 10.8%, unspecified 1.4%, none 1.9% (2000 census)

Language: English (official), Hindi, French, Spanish, Chinese

Ethnics Group: Indian (South Asian) 40%, African 37.5%, mixed 20.5%, other 1.2%, unspecified 0.8% (2000 census)

Government: Parliamentary democracy

Currency: Trinidad and Tobago Dollar