Skip to main content

Map of BelizeBelize (formerly British Honduras), is a country in Central America. Belize has a diverse society, composed of many cultures and speaking many languages.

Although Kriol and Spanish are spoken among the population, Belize is the only country in Central America where English is the official language.

It is bordered by Mexico to the north, Guatemala to the south and west, and the Caribbean sea to the east.

Official Name: Belize

Capital: Belmopan

Population: 307,899 (July 2009 est.)

Area: 22,966 sq km

Coastline: 386 km

Religion: Roman Catholic 49.6%, Protestant 27% (Pentecostal 7.4%, Anglican 5.3%, Seventh-Day Adventist 5.2%, Mennonite 4.1%, Methodist 3.5%, Jehovah's Witnesses 1.5%), other 14%, none 9.4% (2000)

Language: English (official), Spanish, Mayan, Garifuna (Carib), Creole

Ethnic groups: mestizo 48.7%, Creole 24.9%, Maya 10.6%, Garifuna 6.1%, other 9.7% (2000 census)

Government: Parliamentary democracy

Currency: Belizean dollar