Skip to main content

Map of HaitiHaiti (pronounced /ˈheɪtɪ/; French Haïti, pronounced: [a.iti]; Haitian Creole: Ayiti, Haitian Creole pronunciation: [ajiti]), officially the Republic of Haiti (République d'Haïti ; Repiblik Ayiti) is a Caribbean country.

Along with the Dominican Republic, it occupies the island of Hispaniola, in the Greater Antillean archipelago.

Ayiti (land of high mountains) was the indigenous Taíno or Amerindian name for the mountainous western side of the island.

The country's highest point is Pic la Selle, at 2,680 metres (8,793 ft).

The total area of Haiti is 27,750 square kilometres (10,714 sq mi) and its capital is Port-au-Prince.

Haitian Creole and French are the official languages.

Official Name: Conventional long form: Republic of Haiti. Local Long Form: Republique d'Haiti/Repiblik d' Ayiti. local short form: Haiti/Ayiti
Capital: Port-au-Prince

Area: 27,750 sq km

Coastline: 1,771 km

Population: 9,035,536

Ethnic Groups: black 95%, mulatto and white 5%

Religion: Roman Catholic 80%, Protestant 16% (Baptist 10%, Pentecostal 4%, Adventist 1%, other 1%), none 1%, other 3%
note: roughly half of the population practices voodoo

Official Language: French (official), Creole (official)

Government: Republic

Currency: Gourde (HTG)